News:

MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Help Compiling First Program

Started by Titan, February 23, 2005, 04:31:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Titan

GoAsm looks very interesting... and I am very eager to start reading up on it!  I have limited knowledge in MASM, but I think the transition should be fun and easy. :)

I have a program that does absolutely nothing:

CODE SECTION
START:
RET

But even when I try to compile this, I receive the following error:
GoAsm.Exe Version 0.52 - Copyright Jeremy Gordon 2001/4 - JG@JGnet.co.uk
Output file: GoNothing.obj

GoLink.Exe Version 0.25.4 - Copyright Jeremy Gordon 2002/4 - JG@JGnet.co.uk

Error!
Could not open command file
Output file not made

Make error(s) occured.
Total compile time 341 ms
What is this "command file" supposed to be?  I'm pretty sure I have everything set up correctly.  This is frustrating I can't even get a nothing-program to compile. :(

I'm also wondering how, with RadASM, I can edit how my project compiles?  If I'm not mistaken... you have to specify all of the libraries to be included, as there is no "Include" macro.  Problem is, if I decide to use a library in the middle of my program, I'm not sure where I can edit the compile settings.

Thanks!
Titan

donkey

A command file is a file that is used by the linker (usually) and is specified with the @Filename in the command line. For my projects and the RadASM implementation of GoAsm I have set up a gfl.txt file in the GoAsm\Bin folder to list all of the DLL's normally imported from. I suspect you do not have this file. I will paste the text here, you have only to copy it and paste it into a text file...

QuoteKernel32.dll
User32.dll
Gdi32.dll
shell32.dll
comctl32.dll
comdlg32.dll
ole32.dll
oleaut32.dll
advapi32.dll
shlwapi.dll
odbc32.dll
riched20.dll
version.dll
winsock.dll
winmm.dll
msvcrt.dll
wininet.dll
HHCtrl.OCX
WINSPOOL.DRV
PSAPI.DLL
msimg32.DLL
crtdll.dll