What options are available for 64bit development?

Started by Chip, August 10, 2006, 06:01:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chip

I have had an AMD FX53 64bit machine for a few years. 
I was encouraged by GoAsm's abilities to generate 64 bit code.

However, my understanding is that if you are not running on a 64bit
operating system, 64 bit development is impossible.  In the Windows
world, this requires WIN64PRo, or the new (and very shaky) Vista
beta.

Am I correct in assuming that I have no options to use my current
system for 64bit programming until I install a 64 bit operating system?

I would really like to use the cpu features available to me,
but it seems impossible at the moment.  (This may be my
error, I am new to the assembler world on PC's,)

Perhaps someone could point me to an article or source that clarifies
the current status and future of 64 bit programming.

Thanks,

Chip

I am on Skype under my email address!

MazeGen

As for the new features, they are really available only in new mode (called 64-bit mode both in Intel and AMD manuals). Only 64-bit OS can use this mode.
This mode is not compatible with 32-bit protected mode. It is analogous to incompatibility between real mode and protected mode. In protected mode, there are features not available from real mode.

BogdanOntanu

well,

I CAN use EAX, EBX, ESI, EDI etc  in real mode on a 32bits CPU ... (with some limitations)

Can I also use RAX, RBX, etc in 32bits mode on a 64bits CPU ?
Ambition is a lame excuse for the ones not brave enough to be lazy.
http://www.oby.ro

MazeGen

Hi Bogdan,

You can't. There is no way how to encode 64-bit general registers in x86-32 machine code.

tofu-sensei

Quote from: Chip on August 10, 2006, 06:01:00 AM
Am I correct in assuming that I have no options to use my current
system for 64bit programming until I install a 64 bit operating system?
Sure you can, you just can't run or debug the resulting executables :wink

Chip