what happend to ah, al, bh, bl, ect. ect. ect....

Started by *DEAD*, August 05, 2006, 09:09:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

*DEAD*

hi, im a complete newbie to asm, and ive been digging up various tutorials from wherever i could find them. ive worked my way through a couple shorter ones, but what got me when i found iczelion's tutorials is that the first page didnt have anything about ax, ah, al, bx, bh, bl, ect. im sure anyone who can answer my question will know the rest. From the other tutorials, id put values into all these registers, and then call int 21h to display a character. what my question comes down to is basically all the other tutorials ive read have something on the registers, yet when i opened up iczelions i didnt find anything. where did they go. since many people on this forum recomend his tutorials, and i must admit id been struggling to find anything decent to learn from, im just curious why his are so different. also, other tutorials had things on using machine insturctions to add, increment, jump, and a whole bunch of other things. im just curious why there not there, have they become redundant or something?

hutch--

Its you DOS assumptions that are getting in the way. All of the BYTE sized registers are there but they are only used for BYTE sized operations in 32 bit mode. Interrupts are not used at all after win95 oem and you perform the system functions by calling Window API functions instead of the DOS interrupt based ones.
Download site for MASM32      New MASM Forum
https://masm32.com          https://masm32.com/board/index.php

*DEAD*

well then im certainly glad i found these sets of tutorials. i was under the assumption that the tutorials i was reading were old, but not that old. (im actually young enough to have never seen a computer running DOS)

hutch--