SSE/SSE2 Intrinsics - Impossible rotations?

Started by bozo, August 11, 2005, 09:24:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bozo

I am using Visual C++ toolkit 2003 and cannot perform bit-rotations on SSE/SSE2 registers..
There are some functions in xmmintrin.h file for adding/subtracting/xor/or..et cetera, but i need equivilant of ROL instruction on XMM register.

I'm new to this stuff, so any help would be appreciated.

Any ideas?

valy

Hi

Impossible is not French  :P

#define XROL(src,dest,imm) _asm movq xmm0,src _asm movq xmm1,xmm0 _asm psllq xmm0,imm _asm psrlq xmm1,128-imm _asm por xmm0, xmm1 _asm movq dest,xmm0

Put an "\" if you want to split the macro. NEVER use comments inside an inline asm macro.
If you want to put some binary: _asm _emit 0x.. (VC++ does NOT understand "db" directive)
Their doc. is very good.

Best regards
valy

OceanJeff32

I just wanted to tell you that Intel at their web site:

http://www.intel.com

Has all the instructions for FREE in .PDF format, and a full (sometimes too much info  :dazzled:) description of how to use them.  Their latest manuals I ordered for FREE, yes bound volumes of their Intel Pentium 4 Instruction Set, and they included everything from MMX, to XMM, to SSE3, etc.

I did some inline assembly in Visual C++ a while ago with a direct x application I was writing to see if translating the code into assembly from all those multiplies and divides etc, would help, and ....
it didn't, but it was an eye opening experience.

I would love to see what you are working on, source code too, if you're so inclined! Upload / attach away my friend!!

Later,

Jeff C
:U
Any good programmer knows, every large and/or small job, is equally large, to the programmer!

bozo

Excuse me for late reply, but i was waiting on a copy of Visual C++ 6 from a friend,
before i started learning about c++ again (got fed up with command line version)  :red

normally, i wouldn't give in that easily, but i'm only beginner ;)