The MASM Forum Archive 2004 to 2012

Project Support Forums => IDE Development and Support => Topic started by: KetilO on April 22, 2009, 11:27:03 AM

Title: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: KetilO on April 22, 2009, 11:27:03 AM
Whats new:
o Added BS_SPLITBUTTON, BS_DEFSPLITBUTTON, BS_COMMANDLINK and BS_DEFCOMMANDLINK button styles.
o Added TBS_REVERSED, TBS_DOWNISLEFT, TBS_NOTIFYBEFOREMOVE and TBS_TRANSPARENTBKGND trackbar styles.
o Added language (if any) to project items.
o Added SysLink control.
o Grids now resizes to window.
o Fixed some minor bugs.

KetilO

Update:
2009-05-06, 39 downloads

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: flyflyz on May 03, 2009, 03:26:34 AM
Hello,

I find a bug of ResEd, my OS is WinXP SP3 Chinese version. In dialog design window, when I click any component to select it, the component will jump to top-left a little, can you fix it please?
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: KetilO on May 03, 2009, 03:41:26 PM
Hi flyflyz

Just turn off Snap to Grid or adjust the grid size to suit your needs.

KetilO
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: flyflyz on May 04, 2009, 11:36:43 AM
Hi,

Sorry for my English.
I have send a mail with a vedio to your, your can see how the bug happening.

Flyflyz
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: KetilO on May 04, 2009, 12:21:38 PM
Hi flyflyz

Have a look here:
http://www.masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=10647.0
It might fix the problem.

KetilO
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: flyflyz on May 05, 2009, 09:13:56 PM
Hi KetilO

The option "Control Panel / Mouse / Pointer Options / Snap To" is UNCHECKED in my computer, but the bug still bechance.
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: seymour on May 05, 2009, 09:27:52 PM
Hi,
there is a couple of bugs concerning the Tools functionality.

1) If the path of the file contains dots, say "c:\projects\gcc\ver3.4.5\main.rc", the pseudovariable $ gets wrongly assigned as "c:\projects\gcc\ver3".
It seems that you should search for the dot in the string from the right, not from the left.

2) If there is more than one occurence of $ in the "command line", only the first one gets interpreted right.
Say, a file "rsrc.rc" is open. Then "windres -v -O coff -i $.rc -o $.res" is transformed into "windres -v -O coff -i rsrc.rc -o $.res"

Finally, not a bug, but ResEd doesn't recognise the TBS_DOWNISLEFT style
(http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb760147(VS.85).aspx), so I have to strip my rc file of the unknown constants and add them manually after editing.
How about keeping the unknown constants as literal strings rather than refusing to open the file?

Anyway, keep up the good work man.
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: seymour on May 05, 2009, 09:43:37 PM
Also, here's an idea: how about autogenerating an Accelerator table from the Menu resource?
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: KetilO on May 06, 2009, 02:07:19 PM
Hi flyflyz

I have no idea what can cause this.
Do you have more information?
Does it happend with all dialogs?

KetilO
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: KetilO on May 06, 2009, 02:16:28 PM
Hi seymour

New upload.
Missing trackbar styles added and tools bugs fixed.

Note:
Missing styles can be added with Options / Custom styles. That way you dont need to edit the script.
Your compile command can be modified to:
cmd.exe /k windres -v -O coff -i rsrc.rc -o $.res
That way you can see the result of the compilation.

KetilO
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: KetilO on May 06, 2009, 02:17:58 PM
Hi seymour

QuoteAlso, here's an idea: how about autogenerating an Accelerator table from the Menu resource?

Good idea, maybe in a later version.

KetilO
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: seymour on May 06, 2009, 02:55:35 PM
Hi.
Great, it works well now.
Also, thanks for all the tips.

About the missing styles - I should have read the Help completely, it IS there.

Also, is there a way to see the compilation results in the Output window rather than in the presistent command line window?

And, I have another bug (sort of):
The names (Project->Names) are not properly merged across resources. Try the following .rc file

#define IDR_MAIN_MENU 10000
#define IDM_FILE_OPEN 10001
#define IDM_FILE_CLOSE 10002
#define IDM_FILE_QUIT 10003
#define IDA_ACCEL1 1

IDR_MAIN_MENU MENU
BEGIN
  POPUP "File"
  BEGIN
    MENUITEM "Open file...\tF7",IDM_FILE_OPEN
    MENUITEM "Close file\tF5",IDM_FILE_CLOSE
    MENUITEM "Quit\tAlt+F4",IDM_FILE_QUIT
  END
END

IDA_ACCEL1 ACCELERATORS
BEGIN
  VK_F7,IDM_FILE_OPEN,VIRTKEY,NOINVERT
  VK_F5,IDM_FILE_CLOSE,VIRTKEY,NOINVERT
END

Then Project->Names gives this:
(http://www.karlin.mff.cuni.cz/~johanis/ss.png)

This is really not a big problem, however it is a consequence of the fact that the names from the Menu resource are not recognised by the Accelerator resource,
and that is a bit weird.
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: KetilO on May 07, 2009, 05:45:37 AM
Hi seymour

QuoteAlso, is there a way to see the compilation results in the Output window rather than in the presistent command line window?
No, maybe in a later version.

Names / ID's
This is a ResEd quirck. An ID of 0 simply means that the name has no ID or is defined elswhere.

KetilO
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: flyflyz on May 07, 2009, 01:39:47 PM
Hi KetilO,

The bug has happened when I set the dialog's font to Chinese font, when I set the dialog's font property to English font, the bug does not happen.

Can you send my the code part about FONT and "mouse up" event on a component, maybe I can help you to fixed the bug.
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: seymour on May 07, 2009, 02:57:10 PM
QuoteThis is a ResEd quirk.

It's OK then.
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: KetilO on May 07, 2009, 02:58:27 PM
Hi flyflyz

I have sendt you an email.

KetilO
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: flyflyz on May 08, 2009, 11:52:02 AM
Hi KetilO,

The bug is fixed, the new program works very well with Chinese fonts,  thank you!
Title: WinMain Question
Post by: Mark Jones on May 12, 2009, 04:44:55 PM
I apologize if this is a dumb question or if it has been asked before, but is it possible to use a Dialog Resource with CreateWindowEx? I mean, obviously CreateWindowEx will not load a dialog resource, but can "Dialog Resources" somehow be used for a standard window class?

A: Yes, sort-of, CreateDialogParam after RegisterClassEx. This allows Dialog Resources to be used similarly to "WinMain."

Edit: I was confused... Thanks Michael, as usual I was so eager to learn, I asked without properly researching. Icz tutorial 10 (http://win32assembly.online.fr/tut10.html) pretty much sums up what I was thinking. (There are just too many ways to make a windowed app.)
Title: Re: ResEd 2.2.0.2 Bugtest
Post by: MichaelW on May 12, 2009, 05:50:36 PM
If the goal of this is to avoid using the system-defined dialog box class, one possible solution might be to define the dialog using the  DLGTEMPLATEEX structure (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms645398(VS.85).aspx).

http://www.masm32.com/board/index.php?topic=10185.0