MASM32 SDK Description, downloads and other helpful links
MASM32.com New Forum Link
masmforum WebSite

Introduction

Started by Ryan, May 10, 2012, 12:22:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ryan

Hi.  My name is Ryan.

I went to school for computer programming.  I had VB 6, C++ 6, and Java classes.  I graduated in 2003.  I had a programming job for about a year and half where we focused on VB 6.  It was a small company; just my boss and I.  He hired me to help him with a project.  It was mostly a custom inventory system with other parts mixed in.  The project came to an end; we had something else lined up, but it fell through and I got laid off.  While there, we started to ease into VB.NET.  After I left, I continued to learn VB.NET and C#.

I tried to stick with finding another programming job, but I ended up getting a job in a warehouse doing basic, non-computer related tasks.  I am now working in the family business.  It isn't programming, but I have used my programming background to simplify some of the computer tasks.

About 3 months ago, I decided to learn Windows programming in C++.  I only learned how to program console apps in school.  Learning how to use the Win32 API has greatly helped me understand more of what is going on when a program is running.  I was able to download a few very nice tutorials.  As I was debugging and stepping through a program I had written in C++, the debugger stepped into the assembly of one of the functions I called.  Since I felt so good about how learning Windows programming in C++, I decided I wanted to learn assembly.

jj2007

Hi Ryan,

Nice to have you here :thumbu
Modern assembly is a very special, powerful language. The "M" in Masm stands for "Macro", and makes it very versatile - you can make it look like C or like Basic or like any other language you like. Have a look at the "recommended reading" reading of Tips, Tricks & Traps, and get Iczelion's tutorials - that should be enough for a start.